Syllabus – IAS – Preliminary Examination – Optional Subjects

New – CSAT: All INDIA INTERACTIVE IAS PRELIM ( General Studies + Aptitude Test ) TEST SERIES 2012 ( Civil Service Aptitude Test 2012 ) : Module X : 1 April 2012

NEW : ( Distance Learning ) All INDIA GENERAL STUDIES IAS  “PRELIM”  TEST SERIES 2011

NEW :(Distance Learning) ALL INDIA IAS  ” MAIN” TEST SERIES PROGRAMME 2011

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Very Important: Strategic Document

Target 2013: General Studies Prelim – How to Prepare General Studies Prelim [ INTERACTIVE GENERAL STUDIES PRELIM TEST SERIES 2013: MODULE I (35 MOCK TESTS + Current Affairs Notes ]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

129 Responses to “Syllabus – IAS – Preliminary Examination – Optional Subjects”

  1. MITO Says:

    hello sir

    My query is ……. Do we have any computer science related subjects for optional subject????
    mechanical….. civil… electrical are present. But any for computer science?

    thank you

  2. yaduraj Says:

    hello sir,
    i want to ask that how much is the importance of english 4 a applicant who has select hindi as his exam language

  3. Anshika Says:

    hello
    i am a cse 2008 aspirant. i have opted for sociology and public administration as my subjects but am not able 2 decide which one to opt for prelims. both are new for me .
    please guide me which one will be more scoring .

    • Sidharath Roy Says:

      hi……can u please guide me by telling me about the syllabus and Creteria Of I.E.S. for computer students. I am in 3rd year of my Engineering in CSE. I hvn’t able to find any information about it on internet. so plz help me…

  4. dharmendra parmar Says:

    hello sir.i am a student of information technology engineering from rgtu,bhopal.which subjects should i choose for pre exam.

  5. sumit Says:

    oh ,god its is aworld made by you ,&every thing which come through tough,make us near to god to sacrifice our self from social evil like jelousy etc, and form the path of great ias ,like me sooon…………………………any quate most welcome

  6. sumit Says:

    hi .this is sumit i have already completed my hotel mabnagement from bhopal but my consience says me that i am for ias,,,,,, plz help me a give me a guideline for preparing ias

  7. nirupma Says:

    iam doing BA,can u tell me that we can choose only one subject in optional subject in premilinary exam?????
    n my subject is histor ,economics ,hindi n english………….plzz suggest me what subject can i choose.plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  8. akhilesh Says:

    sir,i am doing b.tech in computer science.can i choose any subject related to computer science.
    sir i want to get more information about the syllabus

  9. Mohammed Yaseer Alam Says:

    Respected Sir,
    i am a resident of Bangalore. i have completed my graduation this year in commerce field. To study IAS course n to become an IAS officer as my ambition is my childhood dream. But to be frank, i could not catch hold of the pace n my studies r still in pending. i am neither regular to class. Its nothing like that i have lost interest in that course. Sir, is it because i am diverting my mind more on something else rather than on my course.
    I still believe that i can do it or do u think that i am lacking encouragement.
    i am confused.
    Please tell me how must i start with my books again.
    Eagerly waiting for your reply, Sir.

  10. sid Says:

    sir,
    i am computer engineering student.. and i didnt get computer engineering as optional subject anywhere in IAS as well as IES syllabus.. can u please tell me whether that subject is allowed as optoinal and if it is.. what is the syllabus for it??
    thanking you

  11. vikash kumar singh Says:

    hello sir

    My query is ……. Do we have any computer science related subjects for optional subject????
    mechanical….. civil… electrical are present. But any for computer science?

    thank you

  12. Promit Roy Says:

    Sir,

    Me pursued M.Pharm in Pharmacology, wants to appear for the prelims, from which optional subject can I justify my study domain, or else please guide me to prepare the way through.

    Thank You

  13. mano Says:

    dear sir, iam studying 2nyear law . which optional subject is easy for me, sir. can you kindly help me sir?

  14. vikas Says:

    dear sir,
    i m a student of 2nd year student of electronics engg. i have keen desire to become an ias . iwant to ask that which subject will be appropiate for me……..plz help me

  15. Deepali shukla Says:

    respected sir,
    i m preparing for mains from public ad & my back ground is commerce as i did my gratuate , & i want to take commerce in pre. but i find myself confused about the selection of the subject. kindly tell me about the level of commerce in mains &pre ,or i just inter change my subject
    thanks you

  16. pooja deora Says:

    sir i would like to ask how many sub are to be choosen in the optional sub. of preliminary exam of ias
    thanking you

  17. chetan Says:

    sir i am an electronics engg .which optional subjects should i choose
    besides electrical engg , which subjects are easy

  18. jasleen Says:

    sir/madam,
    i ‘ve done BCA and currently m pursuing MCA last year. i want to go for IAS exam in coming future..
    i ‘vent seen any computer related subjects in this course.
    can u please suggest me which subjects shud i go for?? so that i can start preparing according to that..
    Thanx.
    Regards,
    jasleen

  19. janani Says:

    sir i am an computer science engineer
    which optional subjects shall i choose and what are the main subjects that i should focus on

    • Dinesh Says:

      I am not the teacher you asking are asking the question.According to me choosing maths will be good as it quite related to computer science but getting through mathematics is a bit tough in ias so if we are really good at it you can chose it as one of your optional.

  20. Bharat Seksaria Says:

    sir i am doing my B.Com graduate( commerce field) but very much interested in becoming a IAS officer so what are the exams papers procedure. Can only students studying in arts field become a IAS officer?
    i am confused please suggest?

  21. soumya Says:

    hello sir/mam,
    i m doing btech in electrical engg..now iam in 2nd year. i want to know how i will start preparing for IAS . it will be very kind of you if you will help me with your suggetion and let me know if i will be eligible for it or not.
    thank you.

  22. harpreet Says:

    sir, i’m 2nd year student. i’m doin my degree in Information technology.i ‘m nt able to decide which optional subjects r suitable 4 me. plz reply.

  23. dilip kumar Says:

    sir ,
    i am a final year b tech student ,ihave choosen geography,indian history give any suggetion

  24. tarun Says:

    hello sir,
    my que is How to Prepare civil services exam, IAS Interview, IAS prelim General Studies, Indian Economy and which subject i choose for prepartion of this exam.i am the student of biotechnology and also have a well knowlge of computer’s…plz guide me..
    thnking you..

  25. manmohan mishra Says:

    sir ,i m doing my b. tech with electronics & telecommunication….suggest me the right optional subjects.
    thank you…..

  26. praveen Says:

    sir,
    I have done my btech in electrical engg .And currently working in one of the reputed psu.I am keen to know which subject as an optional one is apt for the preparation of IAS.So that ,considering time constraint ,I can prepare for it.Please suggest me !!
    thanking you…..

  27. amar Says:

    i am a commerce student.suggest me about optional subjects.
    have indian economy as a subject…..
    thank you

  28. ashok kumar Says:

    sir, i hve passed my 12th class sir what branch should i take in engg so that i can get good optional papers in my civil service exam.
    sir, i m interested in computer science is it my right choice if not then what branch should i take??

  29. parag Says:

    hello sir….i’m first year B.Com student. but i had science background in 11/12th. i want to prepare for IAS. i have made my mind for first optional as indian history…as i have a lot interest in it. will u suggest me for 2nd optional?? should i take 2nd optional from my degree i.e. commerce or economics..or again from humanities???
    thank you…

  30. sushant singh Says:

    please suggest me what subjects to choose for my I.A.S examination.I am commerce graduate & looking for coaching in lucknow but there is no commerce teacher in lucknow.So i am left with arts subject, could you please suggest me which subjects to choose whose syllabus is less or the subject is scoring one

  31. sambid Says:

    sir ,
    i am a mechanical engineer and am interested in choosing mechanical engineering (in which i have thorough knowledge) and political science ( in which i have deep interest and liking) as my optional subjects. please advise me on my decision and if possible tell me the success rate for such a combo.

  32. PRABHAT SETH Says:

    sir i am student of B.sc IT (information technology) realated to computer science.sir please tell me that can i take IT as an optional subject in preliminary examination in civil services,can i see my future in ias examination.if possible can you send me the list of whole subject at my email id.

  33. satish jain Says:

    sir
    what are the selection rate of electrical engg in pre
    i am electronics & comm student
    and have last chance for upsc
    should i change optional in pre or not

  34. Arijit Dutta Says:

    sir,
    i am computer engineering student.. and i didnt get computer engineering as optional subject anywhere in IAS as well as IES syllabus.. can u please tell me whether that subject is allowed as optoinal and if it is.. what is the syllabus for it??
    thanking you

  35. pankaj Says:

    sir,
    i am electrical & electronics engineering student.i want to know which optional subject is scoring and which subject suit 4 me as optional subject ??
    thanking you…

  36. Himanshu kumar Says:

    sir,i have done my b.tech in computer science.can i choose any subject related to computer science.
    sir i want to get more information about the syllabus

  37. Luxmikanta Says:

    Sir
    Can BCA student try IAS exam.

  38. pawankumar Says:

    sir, i wanted to become an IAS officer i am b.tech[CSE ] pleasssssssssssss tellme what optional sub should i take. IT’S MY DREAM

  39. shubhrat srivastav Says:

    sir,
    i am electronics engineering student.i want to know which optional subject is scoring and which subjects suit 4 me for pre and main exam both ??
    thanking you…

  40. ishan Says:

    hello
    i am a cse 2008 aspirant. i have opted for geography and pyschology as my subjects but am not able 2 decide which one to opt for prelims. both are new for me .
    please guide me which one will be more scoring .

  41. Dharanendra kumar Says:

    sir,
    I am a MBA from christ college. I will take IPS exams this year or next year. My concern is this for prelims there is no management subject as optional and management subject is there for Mains exams. so could you please help me with letting me no which all subjects are there for prelims.

    Please reply
    With regards,
    Dharanendra

  42. sangram Says:

    sir,
    i have taken electronics and instrumentation engg. in btech.so plz guide me choosing the 2 optional subject for civil service exam.

  43. LAMIRSHA SREE.G.M Says:

    sir,
    i am 1st year BE computer science student. i want to know which optional subject is scoring. which subject suit for me .its my dream,i want more information about syllabus.

  44. Abhishek Says:

    Hi… I am also going to take Mgmt as my optional 2 in IAS mains, and i wanted to discuss as for the syllabus and how to study, books etc. interestd ppl can plz mail me at hr.bits@gmail.com

  45. Ishukumar m. Asati Says:

    i want to know that , I m a civil engg. student & want to go for IAS . so please tell @ civil engg. optionals in prelims.

  46. sidharth Says:

    sir i want to know thw criteria,syllabus,books,name and no of papers for entering into ias exam after b.tech in e.c.e

  47. vikash kumar singh Says:

    sir, i have heard b-tech cse students are not eligible for IAS exam. is it true or not?
    if yes then please can you tell me the other option for doing IAS.

  48. Anand Sharma Says:

    Sir, I am a Commerce graduate and want to compete for civil services 2011-12. I am going for M.Com (via correspondence) and as well as planning to preapre for civil services. My query is that for which should I opt for. I have decided Commerce & Accountancy for Prelim & Mains. Is it ok. Pls. suggest for optionals.

  49. J Mathew Says:

    Is there a provision to change the optional subjects, once chosen for the Prelims ?

  50. sindhu shree Says:

    hello sir, i am 3rd year BA student. i wanted know that can i take the IAS prelims exam in final year itself. please reply soon sir.

  51. Rakesh Says:

    sir, I am pursueing my b.tech in computer science and want to appear for ias exam in 2010 . which subject should i choose for prilm. and main.

  52. abhishek.m Says:

    i am B.E CSE student,what are the subjects that i can take for prelims………………….thank u…..

  53. vipin kumar yadav Says:

    after bca i wanna preparation ias exam what subject good give me fool information thanks alot

  54. virendra singh Says:

    hello sir
    i m a student of b.tech 3rd year electronics & instrumentation branch.
    i have a dream to become a IAS officer. but i don’t know about the syllabus of E&I branch . how to preparing for the examination.

    so my humble request to you that you tell me about syllabus & give me guidence for choosing the subjects

    thanks a lot .

  55. K.M.K SHABNA Says:

    Hai sir,
    i am doing my engineering course n B.techI.T.sir actually my aim s to become an IAS officer.but i need some help frm u regarding wat all books can i use to study for prelims of UPSC EXAMINATION.

  56. Sashmita Samal Says:

    i am a coputer science student.So plz advice me the best optional subject for me

  57. madan Says:

    sir, i am doing msc in computer science. and i have done my graduation in computer scinece…plz tell me any camputer subject for ias…….plz tell me ….

  58. sapna yadav Says:

    i am a computer science engineer .is there any optional subject related to my field ?

  59. niteen Says:

    i am a computer science engineer .is there any optional subject related to my field ?

    • ajaysinghniranjan Says:

      Hi Niteen ,

      There are no optional subjects related to computer etc.

      Even Engineering subjects are not good choice for IAS exam ….

      You can opt geography as a first optional subject ( Which is very much scientific in nature ).

      Best wishes & Good Luck

  60. Soniya Tolani Says:

    Hi Sir,
    I have completed my graduation this year, have very less knowledge about IAS but wanted to do it with my will and passion. but due to lack of knowledge want to that we need to choose any two subjects such as sociology and geography will work or more will be added to it.
    I am working at Airport as well so i am interested in geography.
    plz plz plz guide me, i m in big trouble, its very important to do IAS for Me.

    Thanking You,
    Soniya.

  61. Soniya Tolani Says:

    thank you

  62. Soniya Tolani Says:

    ok

  63. Md Abdullah Nizami Says:

    Hi sir i m class 12 student of commerce stream n having very less knowledge about IAS exams………….So plzz help me thru proper guidance……….

  64. prasanna Says:

    Sir,

    I belong to B.Tech (Information Technology). Wat optional subjects can i take. Whether any computer science related subjects are there to choose.

  65. poornima Says:

    hi i am doing my b.c.s final year just i want to know what are the subjects
    for I.A.S pls reply or pls help me

  66. Loganathan. R Says:

    My query is ……. Do we have any computer science related subjects for optional subject????
    mechanical….. civil… electrical are present. But any for computer science?

    Regs,

    Logu.

  67. Deepak Gupta Says:

    Sir,
    I have passed 12th from CBSE board with bio stream with 79% marks. I want to prepare for the IAS examination now I am doing B.Sc my subjects are Chemistry, Botany and Zoology. I am in a confused state that what should i take as the compulsory subject so that i can score well.
    plz clear it to me
    Thanks
    Deepak Gupta

  68. VISHAL SINGH Says:

    hello sir!
    I am b.tech graduate from “computer science & engg.”
    i don’t know ho should i choose the subjects to appear
    in the entrance test…
    please help me!
    thanking u.

  69. hema Says:

    hi sir, i hav finished my 12th, plannin to take up e.c.e or civil.. sir…. hw shld i start preparing myself for upsc and wat wud b easy for me to take as an optional sub for my main.. pls reply sir it will very useful for me

  70. manoj meena Says:

    hi,sir i m student of electronics & comm. engg.
    which subject i choose for ias pre exam pls ans me

  71. Dinesh Says:

    sir, i am a computer engineering student and is very good at my subjects and i want to keep computer science as one of my optional.I want to ask you what are the future chances of including computer science,i can wait for one or two years.

  72. swaim prabha mishra Says:

    sir, i am a BCA student and i want to know what are the subjects i can choose for my optionals and mains if available from computer science branch otherwise which subjects will be good for me from non-technical branch . please help me out soon.

  73. Bharat Says:

    Sir
    i am an electronics student . which subject i should take for IAS exams.
    i am in great dilemma.

  74. Nikhil Says:

    sir’
    i am a computer engineering student and i want to know that which is the best optional subject for my ias prilim’s exam,one more thing is that in feture is there any chance for including computer science as a subject for ias exam

  75. Asha Varshney Says:

    Hello Sir,
    I am a student of final Year BTech(IT). I have a request, please help me choosing my subject for IAS since the subjects given in the list for IAS are almost new to me. So I am a lot confused in choosing my subjects. It is my humble request to please pay attention to my request and guide me for the same.

    Hoping for a positive reply
    Thank You Sir,

  76. azhar Says:

    Hello Sir,
    I am a student of final Year B.e(e&c). I have a request, please help me choosing my subject for IAS since the subjects given in the list for IAS are almost new to me. So I am a lot confused in choosing my subjects. It is my humble request to please pay attention to my request and guide me for the same.

    Hoping for a positive reply
    Thank You Sir,

  77. Vinod kumar Says:

    Sir,

    I am BCA Qualified.I wanted to know about pre exam optional paper suitable for me.

  78. Vinod kumar maurya Says:

    Hello Sir,

    I am Qualified BCA.I have a request, please help me choosing my subject for IAS since the subjects given in the list for IAS are almost new to me. So I am a lot confused in choosing my subjects. It is my humble request to please pay attention to my request and guide me for the same.

    Hoping for a positive reply
    Thanks

  79. Akhil Says:

    Public Administration as 1st Optional and Philosophy can be taken as a second optional. The syllabus is easy to understand and can be mastered with revision.

  80. megha aggarwal Says:

    sir,i m a 2nd year b.a.llb student,and want to prepare for ias and pcs exam,taking law as a subject.kindly help me out!!how can i prepare for the same.what books should i consider.and also please tell me something about the syllabus regarding the same.

  81. BHAVYA Says:

    can a computer science student give IAS exam.if yes, wat r the basics to start with ? plz reply soon…

  82. meena Says:

    I am also rgukt student.you likes biology so much i know.mechanical engineering branch is suitable for you. because you have many interest in maths.if you take mechanical engineering you have solved many maths problems.

  83. manpreet kaur Says:

    Hi Sir,
    I have completed my graduation this year, have very less knowledge about IAS but wanted to do it with my will and passion.i m an electronic engineer.. can u plz guide me that which subject i should choose..pz plz plz guide me, i m in big trouble, its very important to do IAS for Me.

  84. monu kumar garg Says:

    sir , i’ve completed my BE with ec and i want to do preparation for IAS with technical subject , kindly help me about it
    i havent got any information about it plzzzzzzzz
    reply about it

  85. pankaj k. gupta Says:

    i m a b.tech elcrtonics student n i want to know steps and syllabus for ias for 2011

  86. harshal Says:

    sir , can u just telme wht r the stepz nd syllabus for ias

  87. harshal Says:

    sir , can u just telme wht r the stepz nd syllabus for ias and what kind of post is given

  88. TANVINDER Says:

    sir,
    Please Can u tell me the positive notify subjects for IAS which basically required exam?

  89. amit Says:

    sir, i am a student of M.sc computer science. plese tell me about can i take computer science as a subject in IAS exam.

    plese tell me sir,

  90. ashwani gupta Says:

    sir, i am a student of b-tech computer science. plese tell me about can i take computer science as a subject in IAS exam.

    plese tell me sir,

  91. preeti Says:

    sir,
    I am in prefinal year of BE computer science engineering. Sir,I want to know that what is IES syllabus and want an advice that which subject should I prepare for IES.

  92. balakirthigha Says:

    respected sir i want the idea of choosing for my IAS exam please help me i wil be very helpful

  93. TANVINDER Says:

    hi

  94. neha nautiyal Says:

    Respected sir,
    i am neha nautiyal.
    i am b.tech computer science student. please guide me which optional subject should i take for i.a.s .
    thanks
    plz rply soon

  95. Nupur Says:

    sir,
    i m a student of commerce doing (BBA) 1st yr and i want to become a ias. i want to know that which subject combinations i have to take for ias prelims nd thn for mains. I m so much confused….
    so please tell me which subject combination r beneficial for me

    please reply soon

    thanksss

  96. subhasini singh Says:

    i m doing bca…which…subject is best that i should choose for…pre…exam in…ias

  97. suganya Says:

    sir,
    I am in prefinal year of BE computer science engineering. Sir,I want to know that what is IAS syllabus .have very less knowledge about IAS but wanted to do it with my will and passion.please guide me which optional subject should i take for IAS.
    thanks
    plz rply soon

  98. suganya Says:

    sir,
    please tell me how to prepare for preliminary examination too………

  99. SWARALI SHELAR Says:

    Hi sir i m class 12 student of commerce stream n having very less knowledge about IAS exams………….So plzz help me thru proper guidance……….

  100. vinod Says:

    is there any optional subject for computer engineer.

  101. parul mishra Says:

    sir , i want know that the syllabus of ias pre. exam bcs i want to do the ias preperation with mathematics

  102. kirandeep kaur Says:

    sir,i want to know what are the subject for a b.tech student for giving IAS exam……..

  103. kirandeep kaur Says:

    sir ,i want to know about the subjects for IAS exam for a b.tech c.s.e student

  104. KABIR JANGID Says:

    ssir i m

  105. Saikat Banerjee Says:

    is there any optional subject for computer engineer.

  106. sarla tripathi Says:

    hhello ,
    ssir i am a student of b.sc.final year with c.b.z.group.i want to prepare for i.a.s. and p.s.c. sir plz inform me about syllabus and suggest me very easy ssubject . sir plz suggest me book for basic preparation.i want todo somthing about my country and country plz………… kindly reply me i am vvery thankfull to you.
    t thank you sir

  107. Brijesh Yadav Says:

    sir,
    i m student of the 3rd year EC student and i wat to preapair for I.A.S. exam please help me how i will start.i haven’t any information conducting this area.

  108. ramesh Says:

    Hi ,
    i am ramesh .i am 28 year old . i have compleated my 10th class & b.a Graduation from andhra university . i dont have inter .am i eligible for ias .

  109. RAHUL Says:

    sir,
    i m rahul i have compleated my 10th $ 2 YR ACCELARATED DIPLOMA AND THROUGH LATERAL ENTRY 3YR B.TECH DEGREE M I ELIGIBLE FOR I.A.S

  110. manu saini Says:

    Dear sir,
    i am b.sc. in HINDI, ENGLISH , CHEMISTRY,ZOOLOGY,BOTANY. which one sub. i should be choose. plz. suggest me.

  111. Navin Chandra Says:

    hello sir,plz tell me procedure and minimum eligibility of IAS and PSC

  112. ShIvani Nayyar Says:

    Please tell me the syllabus of commerce …

  113. mukesh Says:

    please tell me ias&pcs syllabus after b.tech in civil eng.

  114. mukesh Says:

    sir please tell me what can i do after b.tech in civil eng.

  115. MONIKA.S. Says:

    sir i am a student of B.E.2nd sem i opted computer science but when i saw the main subjects of IAS exam there is no subject related to computer science,so i thought to change the branch so plz tell ur suggestion sir plz….

  116. krishnabagdkar Says:

    krishna bagdkar says ; i am student of b.e. 8 sem of computer science. i want say the ias exam . i am preparetion the base to start in ias exa i reqveste to sir. you the will guidence me the ias exam. the computer science on realatead subject in priliam and mains. piz tell me guidence.

  117. meenakshi Says:

    hello sir..’ i m pesuing my BA LLB. (5.3). I wanna prepare for ias . plz tell me is there any difference between the optional subjects offeredd in pre n main exam or both are same…?

  118. Pranay Says:

    Hello now there is no system of optionals in prelims after the introduction of csat. Paper I is on general studies and Paper II is an aptitude test. Both the papers are compulsory for every candidate. However you can choose optionals in mains. Going by your background you can choose Law and Public Administration

  119. pathaansalman Says:

    pathaansalman my name my dream is ALL INDIA TOP IN INDIAN CIVELSERVESES EXAMINATION.

  120. Jitendra Rajput Says:

    sir,
    i am computer engineering student.. and i didnt get computer engineering as optional subject anywhere in IAS as well as IES syllabus.. can u please tell me whether that subject is allowed as optoinal and if it is.. what is the syllabus for it??
    thanking you

  121. yogishachar Says:

    i whant to know the ias syllabus 2012 prilimanary exam

  122. saurabh pratap Says:

    i m doing b.tech with ece
    than i want to become an ias ………………
    please suggest

  123. jigna Says:

    SIR I am student of f.y.b.com(hon) student .I preparation to I A S. so sir give me suggestion to reading the subject. my steream is commerce.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,276 other followers

